McMaster University’s Philosophy Department is pleased to invite philosophers and legal scholars to attend and to comment upon the main-program papers of our conference, The Legacy of Ronald Dworkin.

If you would like the opportunity to offer your critical expertise within this event, please attend to the information below.

Information for Commentators:

Theoretical Background Request: To best match our program-papers with our commentators, please provide us with:

A short (100 words max.) expression of interest, pertaining to which paper you would like to comment upon, and why. Along with your (short or long) CV, in Word format.

Contact Information:

Please send this information to:
Please use “CFC Reply” as the subject line of your correspondence.


We will begin rolling acceptances for commentators on March 25th, 2014, in order to give us time to find the best matches.

Session Format:

Main papers will be approximately 30 minutes long. And, your commentary will be expected to last 10-15 minutes (maximum).

Conference Content:

The Legacy of Ronald Dworkin includes work from a diverse and renowned group of scholars, including eight keynote sessions. The opportunity for commentary is restricted to the main-program papers, listed below:

  • Adam Tucker, ‘Revisiting the Judicial Review Question’
  • Aditi Bagchi, ‘Authority, Intention and Interpretation’
  • Ajey Sangai, ‘Social Construction of Choice and Sovereign Virtue’
  • Alexander Green, ‘Interpretivism beyond the Nation State’
  • Bill Conklin, ‘Concepts without Meaning’
  • Bojan Spaic, ‘The Unbearable Lightness of Adjudicating Hard Cases’
  • Candice Delmas, ‘Political Resistance for Hedgehogs’
  • Dan Priel, ‘Objectivity and Legitimacy, or Misunderstanding Dworkin’
  • Daniel Weinstock, ‘Religious Freedom without Religion’
  • David Rondel, ‘Dworkin on the Currency of Egalitarian Justice’
  • Dimitrios Kyritsis, ‘Legality, Integrity and Institutional Design’
  • Dragica Vujadinovic, ‘Achievements And Limits Of Dworkin`s Political Philosophy’
  • Gerardo Vildostegui, ‘Dworkin on Constitutional Interpretation and Judicial Review’
  • Hamish Stewart, ‘Concern and Respect in Procedural Law’
  • Imer Flores, ‘Towards an Integrative Jurisprudence’
  • Ken Himma, ‘Dworkin’s “Third” Theory of Law’
  • Larry Alexander, ‘Was Dworkin an Originalist?’
  • Luis Duarte, ‘The Grounds and Sources of Law’
  • Marcelo Ferrere, ‘Dworkin and the Inherent Jurisdiction of the Court’
  • Matt Grellette, ‘Jurisprudence and Metaphysical Agnosticism’
  • Michael Giudice, ‘Assessing Dworkin’s Legal Theory Along Two Dimensions: Imperialism and Importance’
  • Michael Green, ‘Dworkin’s Reluctant Monism’
  • Miodrag Jovanovic, ‘Dworkin on International Law: Not Much of a Legacy’
  • Mohamad Al-Hakim, ‘Dworkin’s Idea of Public Reason’
  • Natalie Stoljar, ‘Integrity and Moral Disagreement’
  • Nathan Brett, ‘Envy and Equality in Rawls and Dworkin’
  • Patti Lenard, ‘Associative obligations and global justice’
  • Roland Pierik, ‘From Equality of Resources to an Egalitarian Theory for Actual Societies’
  • Sari Kisilevsky, ‘Dworkin’s Challenge’
  • Tony Reeves, ‘Reasons of Law: Dworkin on the Legal Decision’
  • Veronica Rodriguez Blanco, ‘Action in Law’s Empire: Judging in the Deliberative Mood’
  • Zoltan Miklosi, ‘Ambition-Sensitivity, Overall Equality, and Market Inequalities’